The Sonic Alien

Oli was standing in front of the large screen of machine that he used to observe feeds from nano probe cameras flying around on the earth. Ara returns from the routine maintenance of the space station and finds Oli looking at a human on the screen.

Ara: I have seen you observing this alien many times. Is it a special test subject, sir?

Oli (takes eyes off the screen and turns to Ara): Not a test subject, yet I am intrigued by this human. He so strange a creature I suspect he might not even be a human.

Ara: Not a human? How do you mean?

Oli (sits back in a chair): Well, he indulged himself in activities that make no sense even for a human. He spends much time and effort on activities from which he gains nothing in return whatsoever. See him now– he is making some sort of human music. No human can possibly find it pleasing to have these sounds falling upon their ears; and I cannot see this whole jargon being profitable to him in any way.

Ara: I have seen more strange human music. I have come to the conclusion that no matter how strange and awful a human music is, there are always humans who find it enjoyable.

Oli (sighs): Not the music produced by this human, Ara. This is why I have my doubts on his human-ness. Have you heard of the sonic aliens from Alpha Centauri?

Ara: The species that communicates using music notes? Is he a sonic alien?

Leave a comment